Privateers ready for 2024 Southland Outdoor Championships


NEW ORLEANS – The University of New Orleans athletics program will look to continue its upward trajectory Thursday, Friday and Saturday when it visits Wendel D. Ley Track and Holloway Field on the Rice University campus for the Southland Outdoor Championships 2024.

Alimot Alowonle (LJ), Jorim Bangué (60M), Alexandra Weir (Mile), and Sophie Loup (800m) head to Houston as Southland indoor champions. Alowonle won back-to-back Southland indoor long jump championships, while Emma Bourg And Trinity Bracey were also part of the champion DMR team at the UN conference in February.

Rebecca DeKay will look to defend his 10,000 meters gold medal won at last year’s outdoor championships. DeKay finished the only 10K of his career in 37:31.24 – the fourth-fastest time in school history. She also earned a silver medal in last year’s 5K with a time of 17:38.15.

Among the UN women’s return point scorers are Weir (14 pts, 800M/1500M), Helene Baumgarten (10 pts, 100H/4×100/4×400), Alowonle (9 pts, 4×100/4×400), Sarinity Bracey (9 pts, 100H), Oxana Bonjorn-Giros (6pts, 3000S), Anna Martin (6 points, 800M/1500M), Trinity Bracey (3pts, 4×400), Briana Bell (2 pts, excluding tax), and Michelle Folke (2pts, 10,000M). Last season, the UNO women finished in third place with 98 points – the highest ever conference result by either men or women in school history .

On the men’s side, Christopher Murphy (5.5 pts, LJ), Evan Pardo (4pts, 5000M), Jorim Bangué (2 pts, 110H), and Gary Sandrock (1 pt, 10,000 M) all scored for the Privateers in last year’s conference championship. The Privateer men finished sixth last season with 79.5 points. Their best finish in the Southland was fifth with 104 points two years ago.

Baumgarten will become the first Privateer – male or female – to compete in a multis event at a conference championship since Farydah Inoussa finished sixth at the 2018 Southland Championships with 4,965 points.

Portions of the 2024 Southland Outdoor Championships will be broadcast on ESPN+. Coverage will begin at 7:05 p.m. on Thursday, 6:35 p.m. on Friday and 5:30 p.m. on Saturday. Live results will be provided by MileSplit Fans can also follow @privateerstfxc on Twitter/X or Instagram for updates throughout the meeting.


THURSDAY. 12:00 p.m. Women HT (finals) Christine Davis, Jannah Sharpe
THURSDAY. 7:15 p.m. Women 1500M (tests) Emma Bourg, Agnes Danner, Anna Martin, Alexandra Weir, Sophie Loup
THURSDAY. 7:25 p.m. Men 1500M (tests) Mason Appleton, Cade Litolff
THURSDAY. 7:40 p.m. Women 200M (tests) Trinity Bracey
THURSDAY. 7:55 p.m. Men 200M (tests) Favor of Madonna
THURSDAY. 8:25 p.m. Men 400H (tests) Kelton Brookins
THURSDAY. 8:40 p.m. Women 10,000 M (finals) Irene Bonanomi, Rebecca DeKay, Michelle Folke
THURSDAY. 9:20 p.m. Men 10,000 M (finals) Josh Johnston, Evan Pardo, Gary Sandrock, Alex Soleau
Fri. 3:00 p.m. Women LJ (final) Alimot Alowonle
Fri. 6:00 p.m. Men LJ (final) Christopher Murphy
Fri.6:45 p.m. Women 100H (tests) Sarinity Bracey
Fri.7:00 p.m. Men 110H (tests) John Adesola, Jorim Bangué
Fri.7:15 p.m. Women 400M (tests) Trinity Bracey
Fri.7:45 p.m. Men 400M (tests) Darryl George Jr.
Fri.8:00 p.m. Women 100M (tests) Aryn Pitre
Fri. 8:15 p.m. Men 100M (tests) Favor of Madonna, Christopher Murphy
Fri. 8:30 p.m. Women 800M (tests) Anna Martin, Alexandra Weir, Sophie Loup
Fri. 8:45 p.m. Men 800M (tests) Christian François, Cade Litolff
Fri. 9:00 p.m. Women 3000S (finals) Oxana Bonjorn-Giros, Agnes Danner, Ida Danner
Fri. 9:20 p.m. Men 3000S (finals) Antonio Delgado
Sat. 12:00 p.m. Women DT (finals) Christine Davis
Sat. 15:00 Men HJ (Finals) Quinton Collins
Sat. 15:00 Women TJ (final) Alimot Alowonle
Sat. 5:35 p.m. Women 4×100 (finals) Aryn Pitre, Trinity Bracey, Sarinity Bracey, Alexandra Weir (Helene Baumgarten)
Sat. 5:45 p.m. Men 4×100 (finals) John Adesola, Darryl George Jr., Favor of Madonna, Christopher Murphy (Kelton Brookins, Quinton Collins, Jorim Bangué)
Sat. 5:55 p.m. Women 1500M (finals) to be determined
Sat. 6:00 p.m. Men JT (finals) Tyler Mitchell, Trace Williams
Sat. 6:05 p.m. Men 1500M (finals) to be determined
Sat. 6:15 p.m. Women 100H (finals) to be determined
Sat. 6:25 p.m. Men 110H (finals) to be determined
Sat. 6:35 p.m. Women 400M (finals) to be determined
Sat. 6:45 p.m. Men 400M (finals) to be determined
Sat. 6:55 p.m. Women 100M (finals) to be determined
Sat. 7:05 p.m. Men 100M (finals) to be determined
Sat. 7:15 p.m. Women 800M (finals) to be determined
Sat. 7:25 p.m. Men 800M (finals) to be determined
Sat. 7:45 p.m. Men 400H (finals) to be determined
Sat. 7:55 p.m. Women 200M (finals) to be determined
Sat. 8:05 p.m. Men 200M (finals) to be determined
Sat. 8:15 p.m. Women 5000M (finals) Irene Bonanomi, Oxana Bonjorn-Giros, Emma Bourg, Agnes Danner, Ida Danner, Rebecca DeKay, Michelle Folke
Sat. 8:35 p.m. Men 5000M (finals) Mason Appleton, Antonio Delgado, Josh Johnston, Evan Pardo, Gary Sandrock, Alex Soleau
Sat. 9:00 p.m. Women 4×400 (finals) to be determined
Sat. 9:15 p.m. Men 4×400 (finals) to be determined
THURSDAY. 12:30 p.m. Women 100M Helene Baumgarten
…follow Women H.J. Helene Baumgarten
…follow Women P.S. Helene Baumgarten
…follow Women 200M Helene Baumgarten
Fri. 11:30 a.m. Women L.J. Helene Baumgarten
…follow Women J.T. Helene Baumgarten
…follow Women 800M Helene Baumgarten


For 54 seasons, Privateer student-athletes have had the unique experience of carrying New Orleans on their chest. Like the city itself, our sports teams have been fueled by resilience, courage and the unquenchable desire to win. Our city also hosts the largest celebration in the country every year. And just like a Mardi Gras parade team, we are connected to our community by pride, tradition, a culture of acceptance and ultimately our commitment to showing that New Orleans is a world-class city to live, learn , play and work. We invite you to become more involved with the only university that truly represents New Orleans all day, every day. Join #NOLAsTeam, we are your Krewe!

Fans are encouraged to follow @UNOPrivateers on Twitter, @UNOPrivateers on Instagram, like /UNOPrivateers on Facebook and subscribe to the UNOPrivateers YouTube channel.